Josh Davis, Writer

Home » Free-For-All Friday » F4AF: Angel Ramon

F4AF: Angel Ramon

Hello!

My name is Angel Ramon, and I am the author of “The Thousand Years War.” It is my first novel, and I’m so proud of it because writing a novel has always been a dream of mine. However this idea had been in developmental hell for over 10 years—not because I don’t like to write—because of life itself. I finished school, got a job and got involved in my first serious relationship, which is now at a complicated stage due to distance.

In the 8th grade, I had this novel in my head including the plot from beginning to end. When I wasn’t thinking of my novel, I would write short stories for either school assignments or for fun. However, even on school assignments, I would ace those papers because I was so much into writing. It was that I wanted to write about something that interested me. So you can say that I have been a writer for a very long time, although I have never published anything until now. It’s been a bit of a hidden talent of mine for all those lost years.

So I entered High School, saying to myself, “OK, Angel…write this book!”

I started my outline, but that is as far as I got for a very long time. That’s because I enjoyed the fruits of being in the popular/cool group and the girls were crazy for me (laughing). Although I had “relationships” with some of these girls, nothing ever got serious simply because I wasn’t ready for a serious relationship. I wanted to make sure I finished High School first.

Angel spaceship

I imagined this spaceship for over ten years if you can believe it

 

Long story short, my focus shifted from writing my novel to keeping my grades up and remaining in the “Top 20” when it came to popularity. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed my High School years—I even loved them—but I say I could have (and should have) fit some time to write my novel. My book idea would get locked away for another 4 years.

When I ended up being in my first serious relationship after High School, I (once again) would get distracted from writing my novel. In fact, I didn’t even write short stories anymore. I started to write poetry, as my girlfriend is a poet and she taught me how. To be honest, I always found it to be boring. Yet with her, she made it so much fun and I even began to notice that my writing skills were improving as well. Still, though, all I had was the outline of my story.

 

Angel girlfriend.jpg

With my girlfriend, who taught me to express myself with poetry

As the years went by, I started to make changes to my book because I was starting to experience more of what life had to offer me. At the age of twenty-four, I decided I would start to write my book with the encouragement of my girlfriend. I took a trip to Puerto Rico, though, and once again my mind was distracted away from my book. At least I had the first chapter written. Then, last year, I made the move to live in Puerto Rico. At first, it was hard, but when I was finally settled in, I decided that it’s nice and peaceful. I finally buckled down and wrote my novel, and in three months my book was complete and published. I gave myself the biggest pat on the back in the world. An idea that was locked away for more than 10 years finally came out on ink and paper and out for the world to see it.

 

For me, I have always seen writing as a way to get away from reality and just free myself by escaping to my own little world that I’ve created. Writing has been a way for me to express what I really think without movement or having people think that I’m crazy. Writing is not just a job or a career—It is an art. It is an art that I’m still trying to perfect even today. I always say, “A good story can be even better when you are able to experience life for what it is.” In other words, my book probably would not have come out the same way as it did if I were to write it in middle school. I firmly believe that things happen for a reason.

 

Angel book.jpg

With a print copy of my book, ten years in the making

I have many people to thank. First off are my friends since High School which we are still
strong (even today) for encouraging me. Second is Luis, a former co-worker of mine when I worked as a low-voltage technician. He instilled in my mind that I should never give up, and to chase whatever dreams I have, while keeping a positive mind set. Third are my parents, who have always cheered me on and have always respected my decisions. Finally my so-so girlfriend back in New York because of her knowledge of poetry and the fact she would write me poems every day and for teaching me to reciprocate, as it really improved my figurative language skills.

 

So the moral of the story is this: if you have an idea that has been locked away for a long time, take the time to reexamine it. You never know if it may be the next big idea. Also, I feel like my book is much better than it would had been had I written it back in the 8th grade like I wanted to, because the characters are a much better reflection of my life as a whole. I made many new friends along the way who inspired me to write this book. For an idea that was locked away for more than 10 years, it sure came out the way I wanted it to come out. That, my friend, is what writing is all about: the love of writing and creating!

Hope you enjoyed this post, and I want you to know that it’s never too late to try an old idea—and it doesn’t have to be writing. Trying won’t kill you!

I hope that you have enjoyed reading about my journey!


Angel Ramon lives in Salinas, Puerto Rico. Besides being an author, he also runs a home based business where he gives computer classes, repairs computers, creates business cards and even websites. You can stay connected with him on his Facebook page, The Thousand Years Book, or on his Goodreads blog.

You can purchase “The Thousand Years War” on Amazon HERE.

1 Comment

  1. […] I featured guest blogger Angel Ramon, who shared his story of publishing his first book with us HERE. Also, I am very excited to say that Angel has agreed to publish his sophomore book with my […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

